top of page

Honours List of Previous Young Horticulturist Of The Year

Updated: Sep 28, 2021

See full updated list under Young Horticulturist Institute statement on Young Horticulturist of the year for for 2016

Winner 2016 was Lawrence Wright from South east branch, a student at RHS Garden Wisley

Speaking after the event a surprised but delighted Lawrence said he was still coming to terms with the win. "Its not sunk in yet. At one point it got really close. Then when I heard I’d won it was disbelief and then excitement”.

Y Hoy is an invaluable platform for young horticulturists to expand their knowledge. Taking part in the competition exposes you to other talented and knowledge young horticulturists as well as seasoned pros alike. "Winning the 2016 competition has helped me immensely in securing my new job at Tregothnan, on graduating RHS Wisley in August".

President Andrew Gill said “They are all winners today. We hope that they all continue to work and do well in Horticulture and become Chartered members of the Chartered Institute of Horticulture. I’d like to thank all the competitors for their bravery and knowledge".

Winner 2015 was Jessica Evans

"The Young Horticulturist of the Year Competition is more important than ever to the Institute and horticulture in general, as we encourage and develop the horticultural professionals of tomorrow, tapping into the current popularity of growing plants; there is no more satisfying job". Andrew Gill C Hort FCIHort Past President,Chartered Institute of Horticulture


bottom of page